Around State College Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event



Exhibition: Drawing on a Legacy – Highlights From the John Driscoll American Drawings Collection

Art Show
The gift of 140 works on paper from Penn State alumnus Dr. John P. Driscoll in 2018 dramatically reshaped the Palmer Museum of Art’s holdings of American art. Drawing on a Legacy is the first exhibition to showcase selections from this significant collection of watercolors and drawings and will feature some thirty works by a diverse group of nineteenth-century American artists.
Early landscape views and botanical sketches, animal scenes and still lifes, and portraits and preparatory figure studies are among the subjects highlighted in the exhibition. Artists represented include many well-known luminaries of the period—John Vanderlyn, William Trost Richards, and Edwin Howland Blashfield—along with lesser-known figures whose work deserves further study. Drawing on a Legacy surveys an array of techniques and media, including graphite, charcoal, ink, and watercolor, and explores the changing cultural importance of drawing during the so-called “long” nineteenth century.
exhibition;art;palmer museum of art;drawings;american art;john driscoll
Event Info: (814) 863-9182
Ages: All ages
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: https://palmermuseum.psu.edu/exhibitions/upcoming/drawing-legacy-highlights-john-driscoll-american-drawings-collection
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Thu 4/2/20 
 • Fri 4/3/20 
 • Sat 4/4/20 
 • Sun 4/5/20 
 • Tue 4/7/20 
 • Wed 4/8/20 
 • Thu 4/9/20 
 • Fri 4/10/20 
 • Sat 4/11/20 
 • Sun 4/12/20 
 • Tue 4/14/20 
 • Wed 4/15/20 
 • Thu 4/16/20 
 • Fri 4/17/20 
 • Sat 4/18/20 
 • Sun 4/19/20 
 • Tue 4/21/20 
 • Wed 4/22/20 
 • Thu 4/23/20 
 • Fri 4/24/20 
 • Sat 4/25/20 
 • Sun 4/26/20 
 • Tue 4/28/20 
 • Wed 4/29/20 
 • Thu 4/30/20 
 • Fri 5/1/20 
 • Sat 5/2/20 
 • Sun 5/3/20 
 • Tue 5/5/20 
 • Wed 5/6/20 
 • Thu 5/7/20 
 • Fri 5/8/20 
 • Sat 5/9/20 
 • Sun 5/10/20 
 • Tue 5/12/20 
 • Wed 5/13/20 
 • Thu 5/14/20 
 • Fri 5/15/20 
 • Sat 5/16/20 
 • Sun 5/17/20 
 • Tue 5/19/20 
 • Wed 5/20/20 
 • Thu 5/21/20 
 • Fri 5/22/20 
 • Sat 5/23/20 
 • Sun 5/24/20 
 • Tue 5/26/20 
 • Wed 5/27/20 
 • Thu 5/28/20 
 • Fri 5/29/20 
 • Sat 5/30/20 
 • Sun 5/31/20 
 • Tue 6/2/20 
 • Wed 6/3/20 
 • Thu 6/4/20 
 • Fri 6/5/20 
 • Sat 6/6/20 
 • Sun 6/7/20 

Penn State University – Palmer Museum
address  Curtin Rd.
 University Park, PA  16802
phone (814) 865-7672
www.palmermuseum.psu.edu/