Around State College Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Schlow Centre Region Library


address  211 S. Allen St.
 State College, PA  16801
phone (814) 237-6236
www.schlowlibrary.org

Upcoming Events

Everybody Storytime

Children
Join us for a virtual storytime with a Children’s Staff Member! Enjoy books, songs, fingerplays, and more. Recommended for ages 2-6. Please register at https://www.schlowlibrary.org/events.
children;Schlow;storytime
Event Info: (814) 237-6236
Ages: Recommended for ages 2-6
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: schlowlibrary.org/children
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 4/21/21 at 10am-10:30am 
 • Wed 4/28/21 at 10am-10:30am 

Comics Club

Drawings/Works on Paper, Social Event, Meeting
This is a fun weekly event for those who like drawing comics as well as those who enjoy reading them.
Comics;Teens;Club Event
Event Info: (814) 237-6236
Ages: 12-18 years old, for students in grade 6-12
Price: FREE
Free
Event Website: https://www.schlowlibrary.org/events/comics-club-10
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Fri 4/23/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 4/30/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 5/7/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 5/14/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 5/21/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 5/28/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 6/4/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 6/11/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 6/18/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 6/25/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 7/2/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 7/9/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 7/16/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 7/23/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 7/30/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 8/6/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 8/13/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 8/20/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 8/27/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 9/3/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 9/10/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 9/17/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 9/24/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 10/1/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 10/8/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 10/15/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 10/22/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 10/29/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/5/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/12/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/19/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 11/26/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 12/3/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 12/10/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 12/17/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 12/24/21 at 4pm-5pm 
 • Fri 12/31/21 at 4pm-5pm 

Knitting Club

arts, crafts, games, adults, teens
Knitters of all skill levels are welcome!
Like to knit? Join the Schlow Knitting Club to spend time with others who enjoy this creative past time in your home. Knitters of all skills levels are welcome.
Who: 12+ years;
When: 1st and 3rd Monday of the month;
Where: Schlow's Virtual Community Room;

Register online and attendees will receive an email including the Zoom room link upon registration. For more information, contact the Adult Department at refdesk@schlowlibrary.org.
knitting;club event
Event Info: (814) 237-6236
Ages: 12+
Price: 0
Event Website: www.schlowlibrary.org/events/knitting-club-55
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Mon 4/19/21 at 5:30pm-7:30pm 

Of Dice and Dragons

Community Event
Teens & Adults: Register for D&D to play at home!
Grab your dice and gather your party, we're bringing Dungeons & Dragons to you! Join us for some 5th edition one-shot adventures for beginning-level characters, full of magic, mystery and more! Dice and ready-to-play characters available, both new and experienced players welcome.
Registration required. Only those registered will receive the Zoom information.
Who: 13 years - Adult (11-12 year-olds may attend if accompanied by a player-adult).
Where: Schlow's Virtual Community Room
.Limit of 8 players per session.
club;Dungeons & Dragons;game
Event Info: (814) 237-6236
Ages: 13 years - Adult (11-12 year-olds may attend if accompanied by a player-adult).
Price: free
Free
Event Website: https://www.schlowlibrary.org/events/dice-and-dragons-0?_ga=2.115823174.1776763260.1615412930-1421454208.1615243877
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Thu 5/6/21 at 5pm-8pm 
 • Thu 6/3/21 at 5pm-8pm 
 • Thu 7/1/21 at 5pm-8pm 
 • Thu 8/5/21 at 5pm-8pm 
 • Thu 9/2/21 at 5pm-8pm 
 • Thu 10/7/21 at 5pm-8pm 
 • Thu 11/4/21 at 5pm-8pm 
 • Thu 12/2/21 at 5pm-8pm 

Schlow Labs: Chinese Art

Art Talk, Painting
Let's explore China through the lens of an artist!
Ashley Yang Liu will guide us through China’s diverse and celebrated art history, highlighting milestones and famous works that have shaped our understanding of Chinese art. With our newfound historical context, Ashley will demonstrate the brushstrokes required to paint classic subjects like the Morning Glory flower. Students can simply watch or follow along as she takes us through the steps to complete her work.
Registration is required.
Who: Adults.
Where: Schlow Zoom Room
Adults;Teens;Arts;Crafts;Lectures
Event Info: (814) 237-6236
Ages: Adults
Price: free
Free
Event Website: https://www.schlowlibrary.org/events/schlow-labs-chinese-art
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 4/24/21 at 10:30am-11:30am 

World Stories Alive

Children
Experience songs and stories in a new language! Recommended for children ages 3-8 and their families. Fun for speakers of all languages, including English! Please check our website calendar for today’s featured language.
Please register for this virtual program at https://www.schlowlibrary.org/events.
Presented in partnership with Penn State Center for Language Science.
Schlow Library;Storytime;Children
Event Info: (814) 237-6236
Ages: Recommended for ages 3-8
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: www.schlowlibrary.org/children
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 4/24/21 at 10am-10:30am 

Everybody Storytime

Children
Join us for virtual storytime with a Children's Staff member! Enjoy books, songs, fingerplays, and more. Recommended for ages 2-6. Registration required.
children;Schlow;storytime
Event Info: (814) 237-6236
Ages: Recommended for ages 2-6.
Price: free
Free
Event Website: schlowlibrary.org/children
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 5/5/21 at 10am-10:30am 
 • Wed 5/12/21 at 10am-10:30am 
 • Wed 5/19/21 at 10am-10:30am 
 • Wed 5/26/21 at 10am-10:30am 

Birding in Your Backyard

Animals, Children, Nature
Learn to identify birds in your backyard and neighborhood with local teacher Virginia Squier. Plus, create your own water bottle bird feeder to encourage birds to visit! Check our website for the supply list. Recommended for grades 4-6. Please register for this virtual event at https://www.schlowlibrary.org/events/birding-your-backyard. Limit: 50.
children;Schlow;nature
Event Info: (814) 237-6236
Ages: Recommended for grades 4-6.
Price: free
Free
Event Website: schlowlibrary.org/children
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 5/8/21 at 2:30pm-3:30pm 

Anita Ditz Children's Author Spotlight with LeUyen Pham

Children
Meet author and illustrator LeUyen Pham at the first annual Anita Ditz Children's Author Spotlight! LeUyen Pham has illustrated over 100 books including the popular Princess in Black series by Shannon and Dean Hale, Freckleface Strawberry picture book series by Julianne Moore, and the Caldecott Honor book Bear Came Along by Richard Morris. Pham is also the illustrator for the popular Real Friends graphic novel series by Shannon Hale and the author and illustrator of several picture books including Outside, Inside, The Bear Who Wasn't There, and There's No Such Thing as Little. We'll learn about her creative process, her life, and of course, her books! Thought of a question in advance? Email it to us at children@schlowlibrary.org with your child's name and age. Recommended for grades K-5. Registration is required for this virtual program.
children;Schlow
Event Info: (814) 237-6236
Ages: Recommended for grades K-5
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: schlowlibrary.org/children
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 5/15/21 at 2:30pm-3:30pm